skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


EPAS participants awarded for their efforts

The European Parliament has awarded participating schools in the European Ambassador School programme (EPAS) a plaque as recognition for their amazing contribution. The Ambassador Schools Award Ceremony took place at the Brú Ború Centre in Cashel, Co. Tipperary on Friday April 05 and in The Grange, Co. Meath on Friday April 12.

James Temple-Smithson, Head of the European Parliament’s Liaison Office in Ireland, presented successful schools with their Ambassador Schools plaque and students received certificates of participation.

James Temple-Smithson stated, “The European Parliament’s Ambassador Schools programme (EPAS) is one of our most successful initiatives. Every year I look forward to hearing the presentations delivered by bright and enthusiastic students. “

EPAS is now in its fourth year and 700 schools across the EU have completed the programme.  This year 60 secondary schools from all across Ireland are taking part.  The programme aims to reach out to students and first-time voters, increasing awareness of Europe and citizenship at large.

“EPAS presents an excellent opportunity for us to educate students all over Ireland on what the EU does and how they benefit from the European project. We encourage curiosity, critical engagement and active citizenship, all cornerstones of our democracy.”

The following schools received the Ambassador School Plaque on the day:

  • Coláiste Chiaráin, Croom
  • Christian Brothers College, Cork
  • Mercy Mounthawk Secondary School, Tralee
  • CBS Carrick on Suir
  • Loreto Secondary School, Fermoy
  • Leo's College, Carlow
  • Loreto Secondary School, Clonmel
  • St Augustine's College , Dungarvan
  • Davis College, Mallow
  • Patrick's Comprehensive School, Shannon
  • Caimin's Community School, Shannon
  • Summerhill College Sligo , Sligo
  • Farnan's Post Primary School, Prosperous
  • Killorglin Community College, Killorglin
  • St. Joseph's, Rush, County Dublin
  • King's Hospital, County Dublin
  • St. Mary's Holy Faith, Dublin
  • Caritas College, Ballyfermot, Dublin
  • Fingal Community School, Swords, Dublin
  • St. Mary's, Arklow, Wicklow
  • Mercy College, Sligo
  • Maynooth Post-Primary, Kildare
  • Maynootrh Community College, Kildare
  • Collaiste Chairain,Leixlip, Kildare
  • Colaiste Chu Chulainn, Dundalk, Louth
  • Colaiste Lu, Dundalk, Louth
  • Presentation College, Headford, Galway
  • St. Mary's College, Naas, Kildare
  • Cross and Passion, Kilcullen, Kildare
  • Dunsaughlin Community College, Meath
  • St. Mel's College, Longford 

MEPs Mairead McGuinness, Vice-President of the European Parliament and Matt Carthy were in attendance in County Meath on April 12.

Mairead McGuinness stated: ”Across the country transition year students and their teachers are getting involved in the European Parliament’s Ambassador School Programme and I was delighted to see the fruits of their work today. Learning about the European Union and developing skills in public speaking and working together and getting to know students from other schools is a great experience now and for the future. Congratulations to the participants and to the diligent teachers who put so much into the Programme. I hope this experience will stay with them and have a lasting impact.”

Matt Carthy the Sinn Féin MEP also congratulated all students who have participated in the Ambassador programme. He said: “We need young people to be informed of and engaged with the politics of the EU. The EU has merits but it also needs radical reform - the only way such reform will be delivered is through active citizens campaiging for it. My hope is that the new EP ambassadors will be those activists who will deliver a better EU that works for everyone”

Ambassador School Programme