skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


10 years of Lux Film Prize: find out the nominations for 2016

The Lux Film Prize, which the European Parliament awards to the best film produced in Europe, is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. The nominations for 2016 have tonight been revealed at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival in the Czech Republic. The three films short-listed for the finals will be announced in the end of July and the prize ceremony will take place in November.

The 10 films, selected by the Lux Film Prize's selection panel, cover a range of genres, stories, artistic approaches and messages with a special focus on exceptionally talented young directors.

The following 10 films have been nominated (in alphabetical order):

  • À Peine J´ouvre les Yeux (As I Open My Eyes): Leyla Bouzid (France, Tunisia, Belgium, United Arab Emirates)
  • A Syrian Love Story: Sean McAllister (United Kingdom)
  • Cartas da Guerra  (Letters From War): Ivo M Ferreira (Portugal)
  • Krigen (A War): Tobias Lindholm (Denmark)
  • L´Avenir (Things to Come): Mia Hansen-Løve (France, Germany)
  • La Pazza Gioia (Like Crazy): Paolo Virzi (Italy, France)
  • Ma Vie de Courgette (My Life as a Courgette): Claude Barras (Switzerland, France)
  • Sieranevada: Cristi Puiu (Romania, France)
  • Suntan: Argyris Papadimitropoulos (Greece, Germany)
  • Toni Erdmann: Maren Ade (Germany, Romania, Austria)

The official selection was revealed on 3 July by Michaela Šojdrová, vice-chair of Parliament's culture committee; Martina Dlabajová, vice-chair of the budgetary control committee; Julie Ward and Bogdan Wenta, both members of the culture committee; and Doris Pack, Lux Film Prize Coordinator, in partnership with the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival.

Three of these 10 films will be selected for the short-list and be shown in a subtitled version in every EU member state during the Lux Film Days this autumn. The winning film will be subtitled in all of the EU's 24 official languages while a special version for the visually and hearing impaired will be created as well.

The award ceremony will take place in Strasbourg in November.

The Lux Film Prize is an award given out by MEPs to promote European cinema, make films accessible to larger audiences across languages and cultures, help promising productions circulate beyond their national market and encourage debate about values and social issues across Europe.

Audience Mention for 2015 Lux Film Prize

The film of the 2015 Lux Film Prize competition that received the highest number of votes from audiences across Europe has also been announced: Mustang (last year's winner) by Deniz Gamze Ergüven (France, Germany, Turkey, Qatar).

Lux Film Prize website
Lux Film Prize 2015
Lux Film Prize 2014