skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Mairead McGuinness elected first Vice President of the European Parliament

Irish MEP Mairead McGuinness was elected  first Vice President of the European Parliament in Strasbourg on Wednesday January 18th.

Mairead McGuinness was elected in the first round polling 466 votes - over  75% of the valid poll of MEPs. She is now First Vice-President to the President of the Parliament, Antonio Tajani.

I am honoured to have been elected as First Vice-President with such strong support from across the House, reflecting my work as a fair and firm Vice-President.

“I  will continue to be a strong voice for European citizens, for Ireland and my constituency of Midlands-North-West,” said McGuinness MEP, speaking after her re-election as Vice-President for a further two and a half years.

As First Vice-President, McGuinness will support and replace the President of the European Parliament in first instance should he be absent or unavailable to discharge his duties, including chairing plenary sittings or representing Parliament at specific ceremonies. McGuinness will also hold several high-level responsibilities as a member of the Bureau, the body responsible for all administrative, staff and organisational matters of the Parliament.

“The New Year signals a challenging time for the EU ahead of Brexit negotiations. Our best interests are served by a united EU27 - dealing with the challenges of terrorism, security and climate change.

"Unity will also be important in negotiating a deal on Brexit."

 MEP McGuinness underlined that the EU must stand up for its core values and that the Parliament in particular has a responsibility to represent all EU citizens.

 McGuinness is a Member of both the Parliament’s Agriculture and Rural Development Committee and the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee.

Parliament’s mid-term election: 14 Vice-Presidents and 5 Quaestors elected