skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Parliament names “Panama Papers” inquiry committee members

The European Parliament named the 65 members of its “Panama Papers” Committee of Inquiry, into tax evasion and money laundering, on Thursday, after approving its remit on 8 June. The committee’s shorthand label will be “PANA”. The European Parliament agreed to set up an inquiry committee into the “Panama Papers” revelations on 8 June. The committee is to investigate alleged contraventions and maladministration in the application by the EU Commission or member states of EU laws on money laundering, tax avoidance and tax evasion. It will have twelve months to present its report.

The full list of members can be found here.

The committee will appoint its chair, and up to four vice-chairs, at its first meeting.

The European Parliament Conference of Presidents (EP President and political group leaders), agreed on the committee’s mandate on Thursday 2 June.

The rules on setting up inquiry committees can be found here.

Parliament sets up Panama Papers Inquiry Committee
Rules on setting up inquiry committees