skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Tax Rulings Committee chair Alain Lamassoure: “This is about transparency and justice”


Parliament’s newly-established Special Committee on Tax Rulings elected Alain Lamassoure (EPP, FR) as its chair at its constituent meeting on Thursday morning. As vice-chairs, the committee elected Bernd Lucke (ECR, DE), Marisa Matias (GUE/NGL, PT) and Eva Joly (Greens/EFA, FR). Rapporteurs will be appointed on 9 March.

"We have an important mission. We need results and we need them fast", said Mr Lamassoure in his acceptance speech. He urged committee members "to seize the momentum of press revelations”, also known as 'Luxleaks'."The task ahead of us is not related either to our political orientations or to the countries we represent. This is about transparency and justice. These are our shared concern and we have to work on them in the best possible spirit", he added.

The committee will look into EU member states’ tax rulings as far back as 1 January 1991, but will also review how the European Commission treats their existing state aid arrangements and how transparent they are about their tax rulings. Moreover, the committee will seek to establish any negative effects that aggressive tax planning has had on public finances and will deliver recommendations for the future. See also the full text of the mandate.

The committee was set up in the wake of a series of investigations launched by the European Commission into tax rulings for multinational companies in Luxembourg, Ireland and the Netherlands.

Resolution establishing the special committee
Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs
Profile Alain Lamassoure