skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


European elections

Every five years EU citizens choose who represents them in the European Parliament, the directly-elected institution that defends their interests in the EU decision-making process. 


Results of the 2019 European elections

European elections took place in Ireland on 24 May 2019. Voters elected 13 MEPs. Of the 13 elected, 11 will take their seats on 2 July and the remaining two following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU.

You can find out the results of the 2019 European elections, including national breakdowns, on Parliament's dedicated website below.

This website also provides information on the composition of all outoing European Parliaments since 1984, breakdown by national parties and political groups since 1979 and all results at national level since 2009. 

Election results in the EU

Irish MEPs since 1979

First direct elections to the European Parliament took place in 1979.    Prior to that date from 1973, when Ireland joined the then EEC, Irish MEPs were nominated by the Dáil and Seanad.

Results of 2014 European Elections