skip to content

Cookies on the EU website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


How is it elected?

Elections for the European Parliament are held every 5 years, and MEPs are elected for a 5-year parliamentary term.

The elections are run according to national electoral laws and systems. This means that some countries apply a constituency system like in the UK, while in other states there is a system of proportional representation, such as The Netherlands or Malta.

Voting in the European elections is compulsory in countries such as Greece, Belgium and Luxembourg.

However, the national electoral systems have much more in common when it comes to the rights of the voters, like the right to vote from age 18.

Since the Maastricht Treaty, each EU citizen can vote or be elected in the country where he or she resides.