126 SESP 07 E



SPRING SESSION

MINUTES

PLENARY SITTING

Friday 25 May 2007 Hall A, Tecnopolo, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal

International Secretariat

June 2007

The session was opened on Friday 25 May 2007 at 14.15 with José Lello (Portugal), President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, in the Chair.

1. Opening of the sitting

The President declared the Spring Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly open.

The President welcomed participants.

2. Address by José Lello, President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly

The President addressed the Assembly.

3. Address by Guilherme Silva, Vice-President of the Assembly of the Republic of Portugal

The President introduced Mr Silva.

Mr Silva addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mr Silva.

4. Address by Alberto João Jardim, President of the Autonomous Regional Government of Madeira

The President introduced Mr Jardim.

Mr Jardim addressed the Assembly.

The President thanked Mr Jardim.

5. Address by Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, Secretary General of NATO and Chairman of the North Atlantic Council, followed by a question and answer period

The President introduced Mr de Hoop Scheffer.

Mr de Hoop Scheffer addressed the Assembly and answered questions from **Mr Lamers** (Germany), **Mr van Gennip** (Netherlands), **Mr Miranda Calha** (Portugal), **Mr Bayley** (United Kingdom), **Mrs Sliska** (Russian Federation), **Mr Mikser** (Estonia), **Mrs Juknevičienė** (Lithuania), **Mr Selva** (Italy), **Mr Benoit** (Canada), **Mr Meckel** (Germany) and **Mr Sayed** (Pakistan).

The President thanked Mr de Hoop Scheffer.

6. Address by Luís Amado, Minister of State and Foreign Affairs Minister of Portugal, followed by a question and answer period

The President introduced Mr Amado.

Mr Amado addressed the Assembly and answered questions from **Mr Miranda Calha** (Portugal), **Mrs Andreychuk** (Canada), **Mr Stinner** (Germany), **John Sewel** (United Kingdom), **Mr Nolin** (Canada) and **Mr Spini** (Italy).

The President thanked Mr Amado.

7. Address by Nikola Gruevski, Prime Minister of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia¹, followed by a question and answer period

The President introduced Mr Gruevski.

Mr Gruevski addressed the Assembly and answered questions from Mr Kamov (Bulgaria), Mrs Kalantzakou (Greece), Mr Piłka (Poland), Mr Meckel (Germany), Mr Myrli (Norway), Mr Canas (Portugal) and Mr Proroković (Serbia).

The President thanked Mr Gruevski.

8. Address by Nino Burjanadze, Speaker of the Parliament of Georgia, followed by a question and answer period

The President introduced Mrs Burjanadze.

Mrs Burjanadze addressed the Assembly and answered questions from **Mr George** (United Kingdom), **Mr Auštrevičius** (Lithuania), **Mr Piłka** (Poland), **Mr Kox** (Netherlands), **Mr Ozerov** (Russian Federation), **Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale** (United Kingdom), **Mr Kondratenko** (Russian Federation) and **Mr Samoylenko** (Ukraine).

The President thanked Mrs Burjanadze.

9. Decisions on Associate Member Status

- Approval of the decisions of the Standing Committee concerning the parliaments of Serbia and of Montenegro

The President submitted to the Assembly for final approval the decision of the Standing Committee that Serbia and Montenegro be granted the status of Associate Member of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

The Assembly approved by acclamation the decision of the Standing Committee that Serbia and Montenegro be granted the status of Associate Member of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

Decision concerning the parliament of Bosnia and Herzegovina

The President submitted to the Assembly for approval the application of the parliament of Bosnia and Herzegovina for Associate Member status of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

The Assembly accepted by acclamation the application of Bosnia and Herzegovina for Associate Member status of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly.

¹ Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

10. Votes on the draft amendments to the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly [094 SESP 07 E]

The President submitted to the Assembly for final approval amendments to the Rules of Procedure [094 SESP 07E], as adopted by the Standing Committee.

The amendments were agreed to.

11. Closure of the Plenary Sitting

The President reminded members of the Defence and Security Committee and the Science and Technology Committee of their exceptional joint briefing on US missile defence installations in Europe on Saturday 26 May.

He declared the Plenary Sitting closed.

The Sitting closed at 18.40.
