William (The Earl of) DARTMOUTH : 8th parliamentary term 

Political groups 

  • 01-07-2014 / 15-10-2014 : Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy Group - Member
  • 16-10-2014 / 19-10-2014 : Non-attached Members
  • 20-10-2014 / 01-07-2019 : Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy Group - Member

National parties 

  • 01-07-2014 / 27-11-2018 : United Kingdom Independence Party (United Kingdom)
  • 28-11-2018 / 01-07-2019 : Independent (United Kingdom)


  • 01-07-2014 / 18-01-2017 : Committee on International Trade
  • 19-01-2017 / 01-07-2019 : Committee on International Trade


  • 10-09-2014 / 18-01-2017 : Committee on Budgetary Control
  • 19-01-2017 / 29-08-2017 : Committee on Budgetary Control
  • 19-01-2017 / 01-07-2019 : Committee on Petitions
  • 05-11-2018 / 01-07-2019 : Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

Main parliamentary activities 

Contributions to plenary debates 
Speeches made during the plenary session and written declarations relating to plenary debates. Rules Rule 204 and 171(11)

Opinions - as rapporteur 
Committees may draft an opinion to a report of the responsible committee covering the elements linked to their committee remit. Rapporteurs of such opinions are also responsible for the drafting of compromise amendments and negotiations with shadow rapporteurs of the opinion. Rule 56, Rule 57, Annex VI

OPINION on the annual report on the control of the financial activities of the EIB  
- INTA_AD(2018)627876 -  
OPINION on the draft general budget of the European Union for the financial year 2019  
- INTA_AD(2018)623884 -  

Opinions - as shadow rapporteur 
Political groups designate a shadow rapporteur for an opinion to follow progress and negotiate compromise texts with the rapporteur. Rule 215

OPINION on the implementation of the European Fund for Strategic Investments  
- INTA_AD(2016)589274 -  
OPINION on the role of the EU within the UN – how to better achieve EU foreign policy goals  
- INTA_AD(2015)560834 -  
OPINION on the proposal for a Council decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the European Union, of the Association Agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member States, of the one part, and Georgia, of the other part  
- INTA_AD(2014)537345 -  

Motions for resolutions 
Motions for resolutions are tabled on topical issues, at the request of a committee, a political group or at least 5% of the Members, and voted on in plenary. Rule 132, Rule 136, Rule 139, Rule 144.

Oral questions 
Questions for oral answer with debate, addressed to the European Commission, the Council or the Vice-President of the Commission/High Representative of the Union can be tabled by a committee, a political group or at least 5% of Parliament’s members. Rule 136

Other parliamentary activities 

Written explanations of vote 
Members can submit a written explanation of their vote in plenary. Rule 194

Equivalence of field inspections (A8-0253/2018 - Czesław Adam Siekierski)  

We abstained in this legislative vote because we believe that the measure is permissive and should facilitate international trade.

Common system of value added tax as regards the special scheme for small enterprises (A8-0260/2018 - Tom Vandenkendelaere)  

This legislative report seeks to reduce the VAT compliance burden for small businesses. Although it does not support the EU VAT system of taxation, UKIP does not wish to impede any reduction in compliance costs and so abstained.

Implementing decision on subjecting the new psychoactive substances cyclopropylfentanyl and methoxyacetylfentanyl to control measures (A8-0271/2018 - Branislav Škripek)  

UKIP MEPs voted to abstain on this technically non-legislative report. In the UK, this drug already falls under the criteria listed in the Psychoactive Substances Act 2016. Subjecting it to control measures in the EU will assist in reducing its availability on the UK market. For this reason, UKIP MEPs abstained in this vote.

Written questions 
Members can submit a specific number of questions to the President of the European Council, the Council, the Commission and the Vice-President of the Commission/High Representative of the Union, for written answer. Rule 138, Annex III