

DEMOCRACY SUPPORT AND ELECTION COORDINATION GROUP

DRAFT PROGRAMME

"Supporting Parliamentary Democracy Worldwide: Building democratic resilience"

European Parliament, SPINELLI 3G3 (and remote participation)

TUESDAY 29 NOVEMBER 2022

15.30-18.30 Opening session: Ten years of EP supporting democracy worldwide - what have we achieved and what have we learned?

15:30-16.00 Opening address by: Roberta Metsola, President of the European Parliament

Moderated by: David McAllister, DEG Co-Chair, Chair of AFET Committee Tomas Tobé, DEG Co-Chair, Chair of DEVE Committee

16.00-18.30 High Level Panel:

Keynote speech/introductory remarks on **EU's commitment to democracy: building democratic resilience from within** by:

Dubravka Šuica, Vice-President of the European Commission responsible for Democracy and Demography

Othmar Karas, First Vice-president, responsible for Relations with National Parliaments

Interventions by Members of the European Parliament Q&A

Keynote speech/introductory remarks on the parliamentary democratic culture of consensus and compromise by:

- Pat Cox, former President of the European Parliament
- Talat Xhaferi, Speaker of the Parliament of North Macedonia
- Oleksandr Korniyenko, First deputy Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (online)

Interventions by Members of the European Parliament Q&A

Keynote speech/introductory remarks on **defense of democracy through protection of human rights** by:

- Eamon Gilmore, EU Special Representative for Human Rights
- Hauwa Ibrahim, 2005 Sakharov Prize laureate
- Salih Mahmoud Osman, 2007 Sakharov Prize laureate
- Leopoldo Lopez, 2017 Sakharov Prize laureate (Democratic Opposition in Venezuela)

Interventions by Members of the European Parliament Q&A





WEDNESDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2022 morning session

Working Session I - Comprehensive approach to the institutional reform and capacity 09.00-12.30 development

Panel I: complementarity of EP democracy support tools

Moderated by: Heidi Hautala, Vice-President for Sakharov Community and human rights and democracy Rapporteur: a DEG member/democracy support community

Moldova: supporting the European path through dialogue and capacity building including Triangle for Democracy

- Dragos Tudorache, DEG Lead Member on Moldova
- Liliana Nicolaescu-Onofrei, Chair of Committee for Culture, Education, Research, Youth, Sport and Mass-media of the Moldovan Parliament
- Professor Enrico Borghetto, University of Florence

Defending the defenders and supporting parliamentarians in peril

- Leyla Yunus, 2014 Sakharov finalist and Arif Yunus, human rights activist
- Isabelle Boittin, Head of Secretariat, Protectdefenders.eu
- Louise Xin, 2022 Sakharov fellow (online)

Panel II: Engineering new forms of democratic participation

Moderated by: Nacho Sánchez Amor, DEG Member

Rapporteur: Matjaž Nemec, co-Lead Member on the Western Balkans

Tunisia: from election observation to capacity support - what next?

- Emmanuel Maurel, DEG Lead Member
- Slim Bouzid, President, Mourakiboun network
- Lamine Benghazi, Board member, Al Bawsala (online)

Montenegro citizens' assembly

- Vladimir Bilčík, co-Lead Member on the Western Balkans
- Tamara Vujović, Member of the Parliament, Parliament of Montenegro
- Jonathan Moscovic, Democratic Innovation Advisor, Parlement francophone bruxellois





WEDNESDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2022 afternoon session

14.15-15.30 Working Session II - Creating parliamentary democratic culture through dialogue and consensus building

Moderated by: Fabio Massimo Castaldo, Lead MEP for the Young Political Leaders Programme Rapporteur: Vladimir Bilčík, co-Lead Member on the Western Balkans

- Knut Fleckenstein, former MEP and co-facilitator of Jean Monnet and Inter-Party Dialogue processes (online)
- Talat Xhaferi, Speaker of the Parliament of North Macedonia
- Ivana Tufegdzik, former MP, alumnus of the Young Political Leaders Programme
- Marcin Walecki, Director, NDI Ukraine (online)

15.45- 17.00 Working Session III - Partnerships for democracy support

Moderated by: Viola von Cramon Taubadel, Lead Member for Georgia Rapporteur: Viola von Cramon Taubadel, Lead Member for Georgia & Ingrid Walker, Interpares

Team Europe Democracy: Cooperation between EU Institutions, Member States, National Parliaments, international democracy support community and the European Parliament

- Davor Stier, Member of Croatian Parliament (online)
- Chiara Adamo, Acting Director, Human Development, Migration, Governance and Peace, Commission/DG INTPA
- Christina Kokkinakis, Director for Values and Multilateral Relations/ Deputy Managing Director of Managing Directorate Global (EEAS)
- Georges Van Monfort, Deputy Director of the UNDP Brussels Representation Office
- Ken Godfrey, Executive Director, European Partnership for Democracy
- Inma Rodriguez Pinero, Chair, Conference of Delegation Chairs

17.15- 18.15 Conclusions and way forward

Moderated by: David McAllister, DEG Co-Chair, Chair of AFET Committee Tomas Tobé, DEG Co-Chair, Chair of DEVE Committee

 "Rapporteurs" of the above-listed sessions to take the floor on conclusions and recommendations.

Conclusions by the Co-Chairs
