Редовни заседания

DROI Subcommittee meeting of 7 September 2020, in association with the D-BY  

Exchange of views on the human rights situation in Belarus following the presidential elections of 9 August with Mr Ales Bialiatski (Vyasna), Mr Aliaksandr Yarashuk (Belarusian Congress of Democratic Trade Unions) and Mr Anton Trafimovich ( Belarusian Association of Journalists)

AFET Committee extraordinary meeting of 25 August 2020, in association with the D-BY

Exchange of views on the situation in Belarus with Helga Schmid, Secretary General of the EEAS, and Sviatlana Tsikhanovskaya, the united opposition candidate of Belarus

Mission of the Delegation Bureau to Belarus, 24-28 February 2020

Meetings in Minsk (by chronological order):
  • Ms Svetlana Aleksievich, writer, Nobel Prize in literature;
  • Mr Sergei Poluden, Deputy Chair of the State Customs Committee;
  • Representatives of the opposition;
  • Representatives of the media;
  • Mr Anatoli Lappo, Chair of the State Border Committee;
  • Messrs Vadim Zakrevsky and Mikhail Mikhadiuk, Deputy Ministers of Energy;
  • Mr Dmitry Yaroshevich, Deputy Minister of Economy;
  • Representatives of the National Platform of the Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum:
  • Mr Oleg Kravchenko, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs;
  • Ms Natalia Filippova, Deputy Minister of Justice;
  • Human rights defenders;
Meetings in Hrodna (by chronological order):
  • Members of the Hrodna Regional Executive Committee;
  • Members of the Hrodna City Executive Committee;
  • Students of Hrodna State University;
  • Local civil society organisations;
  • Local entrepreneurs and artists;

Ordinary meeting on 27 November 2019 in Strasbourg

The meeting included the following items:

  • Outcome of the parliamentary elections held in Belarus on 17 November 2019
  • Human Rights situation in Belarus
  • State-of-play of the negotiation of the EU-Belarus Partnership Priorities and recent developments in the EU-Belarus relations
  • Ms Corien JONKER, Head of the OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission to Belarus

  • Dr Anaïs MARIN, UN Human Rights Council's Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Belarus (by visioconference)

  • Mr Dirk LORENZ, Deputy Head of Division for "Eastern Partnership - bilateral relations", European External Action Service
  • Mr Vassilis MARAGOS, Head of Unit for "Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus & Eastern Partnership", European Commission, DG NEAR

Constituent meeting on 26 September 2019 in Brussels

During the D-BY constituent meeting on 26 September 2019, the members of the Delegation's Bureau were elected by acclamation.

Chair: Mr Robert BIEDROŃ (S&D, Poland);

1st Vice-Chair: Mr Valdemar TOMAŠEVSKI (ECR, Lithuania); and

2nd Vice-Chair: Ms Karin KARLSBRO (Renew, Sweden).

It was also the occasion, for the Members, to exchange views on the linguistic profile of the Delegation, and on the calendar of activities for the remainder of the year.

A summary of ordinary meetings held during the European Parliament's 8th term (2014-2019) can be found in the delegation's archives.