D-IQ: Delegation for relations with Iraq

The Delegation for relations with Iraq is a standing (permanent) delegation of the European Parliament tasked with maintaining and developing Parliament's contacts with Iraq.

The delegation holds regular meetings at the European Parliament with Iraqi and international interlocutors. Issues addressed by the delegation include EU-Iraq relations, political, social and economic issues, human rights, and the grave humanitarian situation in Iraq.

Discussions in the delegation inform parliamentary debate and resolutions adopted by the European Parliament's plenary, including the 2016 resolutions on
  • the situation in northern Iraq,
  • the systematic mass murder of minorities by ISIS/Daesh and
  • mass graves in Iraq.


In the Parliament's current legislative term (2014-2019), the fight against ISIS/Daesh has dominated the Delegation's agenda.

The Delegation has examined this issue in depth from various angles, including the military aspects and the impact of the fall of the oil price on the war. In particular, the Delegation has focused on genocide, war crimes, and humanitarian needs. The Delegation has heard survivors of sexual slavery at the hands of ISIS and family members of victims of genocide. It has focused on the need of transitional justice and of preserving evidence of mass graves for justice.

In addition to minority rights and human rights, the Delegation has concentrated on the country's humanitarian needs, particularly around the battle for Mosul, which displaced hundreds of thousands of people.

The humanitarian situation in Iraq is dire, with over three million people internally displaced in the country by conflict, including territorial conquests by ISIS/Daesh and the battles to re-claim this territory.

Chair and Members

The current chair of the Delegation is David Campbell Bannerman (ECR, UK), with Brian Hayes (EPP, Ireland) and Javier Couso Permuy (GUE/NGL, Spain) serving as Vice-Chairs.

The delegation counts a total of eight full members, with a full corps of substitute members.

Sakharov Prize

In 2016 the European Parliament awarded its prestigious Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to two Iraqi Yazidi activists, Nadia Murad and Lamiya Aji Bashar.

The two women were recognised in 2016 for their work against the enslavement of women by ISIS/Daesh, of which they are survivors, and for minorities in Iraq, a topic with which the Delegation has been actively concerned.

Travel and inter-parliamentary meetings

The Delegation has been unable to travel to Iraq in recent years, but regular meetings are held with Iraqi counterparts at the European Parliament in Strasbourg and Brussels.

The next inter-parliamentary meeting between the European Parliament and the Iraqi Council of Representatives will be held on 9 October 2017.

Article 113 of the EU-Iraq Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA)

PARTNERSHIP AND COOPERATION AGREEMENTbetween the European Union and its Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Iraq, of the other part

Article 113
Parliamentary Cooperation Committee

1. A Parliamentary Cooperation Committee is hereby estab­lished. It shall be a forum for Members of the Iraqi Parliament and the European Parliament to meet and exchange views.

2. The Parliamentary Cooperation Committee shall consist of Members of the European Parliament, on the one hand, and of Members of the Iraqi Parliament, on the other.

3. The Parliamentary Cooperation Committee shall be informed of the recommendations of the Cooperation Council.

4. The Parliamentary Cooperation Committee may make recommendations to the Cooperation Council.