Democracy Support and Election Coordination Group (DEG)

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the President of the European Parliament and its political leaders have modified Parliament's calendar of activities. The aim is to enable Parliament to exercise its core functions, while complying with the duty of care for its Members and staff and protecting public health.

Therefore, most meetings and all external activities of the Parliament have been cancelled or postponed.

MEPs David McAllister and Tomas Tobé during a meeting in the European Parliament

MEPs David McAllister and Tomas Tobé © European Union - European Parliament

The European Parliament has created a dedicated group of MEPs who oversee the Parliament's efforts to support democracy beyond the EU .

This group, called the Democracy Support and Election Coordination Group (DEG), is headed by the chairs of

  • the Foreign Affairs Committee (AFET), and
  • the Development Committee (DEVE).

The group consists of 15 Members, including the Chair of the Conference of Delegation Chairs, the Chair of the Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) and the Vice-Presidents responsible for the Sakharov Prize and for Human Rights and Democracy.

Together, they work to ensure that all their colleagues' efforts are coherent and effective.

The DEG's mandate and composition was decided by the European Parliament's Conference of Presidents on 13 September 2012. At the same time, the Conference of Presidents defined the criteria and procedures for election observation delegations.

Composition of the Democracy Support and Election Coordination Group (DEG)

  • Mr David McALLISTER (Chair AFET, EPP)
  • Mr Tomas TOBÉ (Chair DEVE, EPP)
  • Mr Michael GAHLER (EPP)
  • Mr György HÖLVÉNYI (EPP)
  • Ms Kati PIRI (S&D)
  • Ms Isabel SANTOS (S&D)
  • Mr Urmas PAET (RENEW)
  • Mr Thierry MARIANI (ID)
  • Ms Anna FOTYGA (ECR)
  • Ms Marisa MATIAS (GUE/NGL)
Ex-officio Members (without voting rights):
  • Ms Maria ARENA (Chair DROI, S&D)
  • Ms Heidi HAUTALA (Vice-President responsible for the Sakharov network and for Human Rights and Democracy,  Greens/EFA)
  • Mr Fabio Massimo CASTALDO (Vice-President responsible for Human Rights and Democracy, NI),


9th Legislature (2019 - 2024)

16 January 2020

28 November 2019

24 October 2019

Previous meetings

Meetings during the 8th Legislature.

14 March 2019

13 December 2018

25 October 2018

13 September 2018

14 June 2018

24 April 2018

15 March 2018

18 January 2018

14 December 2017

16 November 2017

14 September 2017

06 July 2017

29 May 2017

06 April 2017

16 March 2017

16 February 2017