skip to content

European Constituencies to be redrawn

The Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy, has signed an order establishing a European Parliament Constituencies Committee to consider the future boundaries of Ireland's European electoral districts.

The need for the order, which was signed by the Minister on 24 July 2018, arose following the UK's decision to leave the European Union. The 73 MEPs, elected by the United Kingdom to the European Parliament, will be redistributed proportionately to the remaining 27 member states meaning Ireland will gain an additional two representatives.

The European Parliament Constituencies Committee has commenced public consultation but will cease to accept public submissions by the 31 August 2018. The Committee will present its report to Dáil Eireann no later than 24 September 2018 and will consider all possibilities ranging from slight boundary changes to a complete revamp of Ireland's European constituencies.

The European Elections will take place between 23-26 May 2019. The exact date should be confirmed in the coming months and will probably coincide with the Irish local elections (with the possibility of constitutional referendums also taking place on the same day).

European Parliament Constituencies Committee