skip to content

Where is it based?

Most of the time, Parliament and the MEPs are based in Brussels where almost all committee meetings take place. The Amsterdam Treaty (1997) lays down that Parliament holds 12 plenary meetings a year in Strasbourg. In this French city, the European Parliament holds its monthly plenary sessions (except in August).  Additional two-day pleanry sittings are held in Brussels.

The headquarters of Parliaments civil service is located in Luxembourg, in accordance with the decision of the EU member states, though many of its officials are based in Brussels.