skip to content

Sakharov Prize 2015, Glasgow - 18th November 2015


On Wednesday 18 November, we hosted a discussion event at Glasgow University in partnership with the Glasgow Human Rights Network, looking at all nominees for the 2015 Sakharov Prize. The European Parliament's Sakharov Prize is awarded annually to honour exceptional individuals who combat intolerance, fanaticism and oppression.

Sakharov Prize logo
Sakharov Prize logo

Students on the MSc in Human Rights and International Politics course had prepared short presentations setting out the case for each nominee. The subsequent vote by the members of the audience favoured the three whistle-blowers: Edward Snowden, Antoine Deltour and Stéphanie Gibaud. The results as well as the actual award were intensively discussed, which produced a very engaging and positive talk. Raif Badawi is the laureate of this year's Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, following an October 29 decision by EP President Martin Schulz and the political group leaders of the European Parliament.