skip to content

Parliament elects the von der Leyen Commission


Following the conclusion of the hearings process, Parliament approved the new Commissioners, presented to plenary by Commission President-elect von der Leyen on Wednesday.

  • New Commission approved by 461 to 157 against, with 89 abstentions 
  • College of Commissioners to take office on 1 December for five years 
  • Hearings process established suitability of candidates 
  • First woman Commission President and the largest proportion of female Commissioners to date
In a roll call vote that took place at noon on Wednesday, MEPs approved the new College of Commissioners with 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions.
During her opening statement, European Commission President-elect Ursula von der Leyen reiterated many of the commitments she made in Parliament’s plenary chamber in July, and by the Commissioners-designate during the hearings process. She highlighted that appropriate investment and regulatory frameworks will be put into place for Europe to lead the way internationally on a range of critical issues: environmental protection and climate change, growth, inclusion, innovation and digitalisation, as well as the protection of democracy, European values, citizens’ rights and the rule of law. She also confirmed a portfolio change that Parliament had requested following the hearings, which established the candidates’ suitability for the role and for the College of Commissioners.
Before the election at noon, political groups held brief meetings to decide on their voting intentions, which were followed by statements from their leaders in plenary. You can watch recordings from the plenary debate and the vote by clicking on the following links:
Female representation in the Commission is the highest it has ever been: in addition to the President-elect, the current composition of the Commission comprises 11 female members and 15 male members.
Results of previous Commission investiture votes:
  • 22.10.2014 Jean-Claude Juncker 423 votes in favour - 209 against - 67 abstentions (total number of MEPs 751)
  • 09.02.2010 José Manuel Barroso 488-137-72 (total number of MEPs - 736)
  • 18.11.2004 José Manuel Barroso 478-84-98 (total number of MEPs - 732)
  • 15.09.1999 Romano Prodi 510-51-28 (total number of MEPs - 626)
  • 18.01.1995 Jacques Santer 417-104-59 (total number of MEPs - 626)

Next steps

The new Commission needs to be formally appointed by EU heads of state or government. Its five-year term is expected to start on 1 December.
Full press release